You could be seeing a great picture here
_

Charles on… anything that comes along

Saturday 9 April 2005

Filed under: — Charles @ 11:19 pm

But hang on, if they’re phishing..

I’m not sure I agree with the answers at http://survey.mailfrontier.com/survey/phishing_uk.html. I mean, perhaps they’re right, but I hope I’m not giving anything too much away..

Oh, stop now and go and do the test - to see how easily you’d be taken in by phishing emails, or how overly mistrustful you’d be of legitimate emails; it may or may not have a mixture of both.

…Back now? I’d say that the second, from “Cross Country Bank”, has to be a fake.

Here’s why:

1) From is apparently accountservices@crosscountrybank.com

2) URL it wants you to go to is apparently https://ccbonline.crosscountrybanking.com/ccbonline.cgi

Notice the difference? crosscountrybank.com; crosscountrybanking.com .

OK, so whois shows them as belonging to the same people. Still pretty stupid to have two different domains in the email. It’s practices like that which lead to people being phished. That, and their over-belief in what comes over wires.

One Response to “But hang on, if they’re phishing..”

  1. byronicman Says:

    I got nine out of 10 correct! As a consequence, I received a prize, which, if you share your banking details and PIN with me, I’ll happily split with you for pointing me in the right direction. Just keep this HIGHLY CONFIDENTIAL, okay?

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress